Day 206: If Only Luck and Good Fortune Were Easier to Understand

Friday evening, we left dinner to find the most beautiful double rainbow outside.  It is so rare to see a rainbow,  I believe it is a sign of good luck.  And a double rainbow to boot!  I must think this is a sign of double good luck, something so rare and so beautiful has to mean more than just bending light and scientific mumbo jumbo, right?  We drove home marveling at its beauty, and in my heart, I felt it meant something hopeful, something spiritual indeed.

Saturday morning, Tom and I were still talking about it.  We had bought a couple of lottery tickets on the way home from dinner the night before, hoping that the rainbow could be a sign that we could fix our small financial pitfalls and get ahead.  Not surprising, we didn’t win anything.

“I thought the rainbow was going to bring us luck?” he joked.

“Yeah, the thousands of people who saw it all thought the same thing.  I bet the lottery commissioned someone to throw that hologram into the sky to up their sales,” I said.

“The rat bastards!”

“Those dirty dogs!”

As often as I have hoped to win the lottery, I know it’s a long shot; thus, I still felt like the rainbow meant something.  I wanted reassurance, so I did a little surfing and found this information from an Asian website:

When double rainbows appear it means that whatever is coming to you has great meaning in your life and that one good thing will lead to another good thing. I really rejoice in your happiness and good fortune. The rainbows are a sign from the cosmic universe that you are about to have something great fall into your lap!
Lillian Too of Feng Shui Malaysia

Ah, I thought to myself!  How exciting it is to hope for something good to come!   Hope for some positive karma; hope for some opportunity; hope for some blessings.

I spent the day feeling lighter. When Tom left for his moonlighting gig, I anticipated a text with some good news.

To explain, Tom bartends on Saturday nights.  He was a bar manager at this restaurant when our children were very young.  When Lizzie was in preschool, he returned to school himself to obtain a master’s degree.  Last January, he found a full-time job in his area of study, and he decided he would remain bartending on the weekends.  This past January, he decided the work load was too strenuous, and he requested to work Saturday evenings only.

My premonition was correct– sort of.  Tom did text with news, but depending on how you look at the situation, one would question looking at the news as fortuitous.  Tom texted me around 7:00 to say he had pretty much been fired, although they weren’t calling it that.  They said they needed to hire someone full-time and offer the premiere shifts to said employee.  It would be in their best interest if Tom remained on staff, but only worked on a fill-in basis, as a sub if you will.

When double rainbows appear it means that whatever is coming to you has great meaning in your life and that one good thing will lead to another good thing.  So am I to presume that the cosmos believe this event a good thing?  Am I to understand that the extra grocery money Tom was bringing home is actually unnecessary?  Is the great meaning that we all need to be onstrict diets?   Sure, we could all be eating less, but we sure did like the extra money, nonetheless.

The rainbows are a sign from the cosmic universe that you are about to have something great fall into your lap!  If Tom’s news is the first good thing in our cosmic fortune, frankly, I am a little beside myself to think what might come next. 

Fingers crossed that the news will be a bit more positively transparent, or otherwise, I may have to stop believing in good luck and karma all together, and what’s the fun in that!

Leave a comment