An Open Letter to God

Dear God,

I know I am not the best Catholic;  I do not attend mass regularly.  However, I do try to always live a Christian life.  I live to help others, share my talents, and never bring harm to anyone.  Also, when I do think to pray, I always try to be mindful that my family and I have our health and we share a great deal of love, so I am blessed.  I pray for the less fortunate and those in need.  I pray for an end of violence and oppression and for worldwide compassion and empathy.

However, today God, I am not only praying for others.  I am asking for myself.

Please, please allow the Cleveland Cavs to bring home the NBA Trophy.  I want nothing more than to feel elation and pride to be a Cleveland fan.  This city, these people need this win, too.  We are a community of people who care deeply for each other, and a win will signify that the love and friendship we feel for our fellow man is really alive.  It will restore a sense of pride, and when people feel good about their community, love and friendship and good will to all men is bound to be the attitude!

So fellow Cavs fans, please say this prayer aloud:

Dear God,

Thank you for all of the blessings in my life.  Thank you for the people who surround me.  However, God, in less than an hour please give the Cavs the strength, the stamina, and the will power to win Game 7.  It will mean the world to me.  Thank you from the bottom of my heart.  Amen

God bless the Cavs, the city of Cleveland, and all men and women who are proudly wearing wine and gold today.

Amen!

 

Leave a Reply

