NKOTB

I showed my daughter this picture, and I asked her to guess who they were.  This is how the conversation went:

New Kids On The Block

Daughter: This is hard.  They can’t be movie stars because I don’t recognize any of them.

Me: No.  They are not movie stars,

Daughter: Hmmmm.  Are they models?  I mean, they’re kind of old and not that cute, but they are standing in front of a Macy’s sign.  Do they model for IZOD?

Me: No, they do not model for IZOD.

Daughter: Hmmmm.  Are they ditch diggers out for a night on the town?

Me: Nope.

Daughter: How about professional athletes, like baseball players or something?  Sometimes baseball players dress cheesy in their real lives.

Me: No.  They are not professional athletes.  Do you give up?

Daughter: No.  I deserve at least one more try.

Me: Okay, but make it a good one.

A few moments of silence while she studies the faces of the photograph, looking for something she can recognize.

Daughter: I got it!  They are metro-sexual politicians trying to play it cool in the NYC.

Me: How do you know what metro-sexual is?

Daughter: Mom, please.  I watch TV.  And they are kind of Bieber looking, if you know what I mean.

Me. I had no idea what she meant.  Yeah, I think I do.

Daughter:  Okay, I give up.  Who are they?

Me: They are the New Kids on the Block!

Daughter: Who?

Me: NKOTB.  You know… at this point I start singing….Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, the right stuff, girl-baby, you know you got the right stuff oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, oh

As I sing, daughter’s countenance changes from ignorance to annoyance to a mild sense of horror.

Daughter: No. No, I really don’t.  She looks back at the picture.  How old are they?  Her voice is incredulous.

Me: I don’t know.  They have to be older than me, I imagine.

Daughter: Are they touring?  Again…incredulous.

Me: Yes, and they are packing houses all across America.

Daughter: Rolls her eyes.  No one I know would go to that!

Me: No, but I know people who are going.

Daughter: Are you?  Fear.  I see fear in her eyes.

Me: No, I never liked their music.

Daughter:  Oh good.  Panic is over.

She stares at the picture a moment longer.

Daughter: I think they should change their name to Old Kids Entering Middle-Age.

Me: Laughing.  They totally should.  God know they don’t look like kids anymore.

Now, these were kids!

Now, these were kids!

Later that day, just because I was curious, and I was convinced they look older than I do, I looked up their current ages.  Damn it!  They are all my age or a tiny bit younger!

Just another slap in the face by Father Time and Mother Nature, neither of which is taking my feelings into consideration lately!

5 thoughts on “NKOTB

  1. A) This story is funny (just like my *step*daughter asking me if the Golden Girls were on in the “olden days.”
    B) I loved the New Kids. So much so that a group of girls and I drove 16 hours straight from Nova Scotia to Montreal a few years ago to FINALLY see them in concert.
    C) They still sell out arenas. The massive one we were in was packed completely full. And Toronto sold out in less than 5 minutes. I’m sad that you’re not a fan. 😉

    • I was in my early twenties in 1990 when they broke. All I could see was screaming thirteen year olds and I could not fathom liking it. I was also “way cool” (laugh laugh) and I listened to New Order and Echo and the Bunnymen. Sorry. Although, my daughter’s reaction (like yours) was priceless!)

  2. Omg i was that screaming 13yr old! LOL I had sweatshirts with their faces an I Love Jordan Knight bracelet LOL. Hilarious!!!! But honestly now i wouldnt go to any of their concerts lol listening to their music now i do not particularly care for it as an adult LOL.

  3. *smirkles* …. I am with you by the way … I do not like NKOTB. But DAMN … I love the acronym *smiles*

    It is funny what our kids think of our childhood…errr….not heroes…but the ‘stars’ of our youth!

Leave a Reply

