Spring Is Finally Here!

Today is just like yesterday, so this is going to be quick.

Yesterday, I got home from work, and I saw it.  Spring!  Kids were out riding their bikes.  Men and women were out running and walking their dogs.  People everywhere were working in their yards: pulling weeds, cutting lawns, and planting flowers.  I heard the sounds of Spring: laughter and excitement; lawn mowers and weed whackers.  I smelled it, too: fresh-cut grass and freshly planted flowers.  It was as if I had been transported to another perfect dimension, and it took all of my energy not to tear down the street screaming and jumping for joy.

Of course, before I could enjoy the warmth and the sunshine, I had to tend to the after school activities: I had to make sure all of the homework got completed and make sure the dinner got made.  Each minute I stood in the kitchen, I yearned to be outdoors.

Around six, when everything inside that needed to get done was done, I went outside.  Tom decided to cut the lawn and I pulled weeds and ran the weed whacker.  My God!  In an hour, our lawn and flowerbeds, in both the front and back, looked manicured and beautiful.  Of course I made a mental note of all the improvements I need to make this year.

At seven, I was so full of endorphins, that Carson and I decided to run.  We went through the Metroparks near our house and worked on training for our 5K.  After 36 minutes of alternating running and walking, our workout ended.  My muscles were the least sore that they have been since I began working out again, and my breathing during the running sessions never got too hard.  I am working toward a goal!

So, that’s all you get.  Right now, I am about to stretch to run again!  It is supposed to rain for the rest of the week, and I want to enjoy the sunshine while I can.

3 thoughts on “Spring Is Finally Here!

  1. GO CHERYL !!!!

    Alright…..sun sun sun. And it is sooooo cool that you are both doing the run. (psst…I will not tell about the entries *grins*) …. are you buying a souvie tee shirt?

    I LOVED this blog post. 🙂

  2. Keep it up! You and Carson should make a bond to do a “rain run”! Because we both know it, there will be a stretch of 7 days where it just rains and rains haha. So get mentally ready for it!

Leave a Reply

