Random Thoughts Day 5: Hijacked!

I am sorry to Cheryl for having to hijack her blog, but I am not “a dog with a blog,” and I have something to say.

I have anxiety.  When humans get anxiety, they go see doctors and get Zoloft or Xanax.  What do I get?  Some crazy bones they buy at PetSmart that have tryptophan in them.  When I am alone and it thunderstorms, it is not enough!  My fears are deep-seeded.

You see, Cheryl and Tom got me from the pound in 2008.  I lived in another house before them.  It was a big white house with a big yard, but one day, moving trucks came and put everything into a truck.  It happened right after some official men put a sign in the front yard, a sign that said “Foreclosed.”  I did not understand what that meant, but the way everyone moped around, I didn’t think it was good.

When the house was completely empty,  the lady, her name was Mary, she called me over to her.  She lay next to me on the floor, stroked my coat, and cried.  She had picked me from the litter, and she said I was her favorite.  However, her husband, Rob, he pulled her up.  He said it was for the best, and he took off my collar.  I didn’t understand.  Why was Mary sad?  What had happened to all of our stuff?  Where were we going? And why did he take my collar?

“Come on, Boy.  Car ride,” Rob said to me.  Oh, how I love car rides.  I raced to the side door and jumped into the backseat.  Rob unrolled the windows.  I put my head out and sucked in the fresh air.  August in Ohio is so warm and inviting.  We drove for about a half hour, into an area I didn’t recognize.  After awhile, we stopped.  He didn’t bring my leash, so I thought I was going to stay in the car.  However, Rob got out and opened the back door.

“Come on, Boy.”  He patted his lap, showing me that it was okay.  “You want to run and play.”  He had my favorite Frisbee, and he threw it into the distance.  I leapt off the backseat out of the car and raced after my favorite toy.  Retrieving it, I turned around wagging my tail.  Triumphantly, I was going to take it back to Rob, but Rob was not where I left him.  He and the car were gone.  I raced back to the road with the Frisbee in my teeth, but I did not see the car.  I did not see Rob.  I started to panic.  I had never been anywhere without either Mary or Rob?  Why would he leave me by myself?

I dropped the Frisbee.  I thought if Rob came back and saw that i left it, he would know I would come back and retrieve it.  He would wait for me.  I raced around the woods and up and down streets I did not recognize searching for Rob.  I sniffed trying to pick up his scent, but not only did nothing smell like Rob, nothing smelled familiar at all.  I did not know where I was.

Within an hour, I was disoriented, and I did not even know where I left the Frisbee.  I was thirsty, too.  I skulked down lazy roads wishing I could find my way home.  I found a pond and drank dirty, still water.  It did not taste like the fresh water I got at home, but I had to drink something.

I sat down under a tree to try to decide what to do.  I looked up, and realized the sky had grown very dark, and not in a it’s nighttime kind of way.  Suddenly, it began to rain, a torrential rain with loud thunder claps and lightning strikes.  I had never been outside when it was raining before, and it was oh-so scary.  I sat under the tree and cried.  I just wanted to go home.  I just wanted Mary and Rob.

A nice man driving by saw me soaking wet and shivering under that tree.  He stopped the car, and he got out and approached me.

“Hey, Boy,” he said holding out his hand for me to smell.  I licked it.  “Are you lost?”  He touched my head gently, and I lay on the ground in a puddle subserviently.  “Okay, Boy,” he said.  “And he opened the backdoor to his car, and I jumped in.

He drove for a few minutes, and then we got out at a building I had never seen.  I could hear other dogs barking.  I wondered if this man had a lot of pets, and if he was going to help me find Rob and Mary or just adopt me.

I realized we were at a shelter.  All the other dogs were like me– lost and homeless.  He spent some time talking to a nice lady.  They dried me off, got me some kibble, and some fresh water.  It wasn’t home, but at least I was out of that ominous, spine-chilling storm.

Fast forward a month and I was adopted by Tom and Cheryl.  They have been the best parents in the world.  They have opened thier home and loved me.  I barely remember what it was like with Mary and Rob.  I know I did not feel this confortable and safe.  However, when no one is home, and it begins to rain, I cannot forget that one awful afternoon.  My nerves kick in, and I poop.  I don’t mean to mess in the house, but I get afraid.  I know they are at work or out with the girls, but I think, what if, what if I were all alone again?

Thank God, they love me.  It gets cleaned up, and it isn’t mentioned again.

Last night, when I cuddled up next to Cheryl’s legs, she put her hand on my hind leg, and after a while, I felt her breathing slow and turn rhythmic.  I fell into a deep sleep knowing that she was next to me, protecting me from the storms of life.

10 thoughts on “Random Thoughts Day 5: Hijacked!

  1. Good for you, Linus, that you found such caring and cool parents to look after you. You’re indeed a lucky hound! Hopefully soon you will meet and hump Nick Swishers poodle! Gitty up!!

  2. A little tear-jerker! I hope you remember this story next time it storms & you are pissed off, Cheryl! He doesn’t mean it!!

  3. What a beautiful story. From one storm-fearful owner to another, you can try the Thundershirt for your sweet baby. They have medication for anxiety for dogs (we had our girl on it for years before she passed), but the Thundershirt is an easy non-narcotic “treatment.” We used a Thundershirt on our girl for the last two years of her life and it did help ease her fears. You can see videos of before & after on youtube. (I’m not affiliated, I just know it was a doG-send for our sweetie…I only wish that had it invented it ten years sooner.)

    • I am so glad you wrote. Dogs are very special memebers of the family. To be honest, we tried the Thunder Shirt about three years ago, but the tryptophan bones work better. Thank you for trying to give us a new suggestion.

      • It’s funny, I’d never heard of the tryptophan bones before your blog! Unfortunately, ours was too far gone during storms and would never take food. We had to use a combo of the anti-anxiety meds and thundershirt to get any relief for our dog. It was a struggle, but like you, we never gave up trying to help relieve her stress. Hopefully you have a quiet storm season!

  4. I am glad he found a good home. I admit … the story as I read it made me EXTREMLY sad….becuase I KNOW people do this. Whether they think tis a good idea…even if they WRONGLY think it is better for the animal (how could they think that?!?!?). This made me sad because people do things like let their dogs off like this. It makes me angry.

    Sorry, this was a happy ending … but there are so many still ….

  5. I should have written the same story about my dog Worthless. Naaaaahhh! It would have been totally fiction. The only recognition he ever gave me when I petted his sleeping body was an obnoxiously fowl smelling passing of gas.

Leave a Reply

