Sometimes, You Have to Run Away

I feel very lucky that my oldest daughter and I are close.  We are friends, really.  Now, don’t get me wrong.  I am not the type of mom who is taking her twelve-year-old for tattoos or buying the underage kids beer.  That does not make your child your friend, that just makes you a bad parent.  No, I mean that Carson and I enjoy hanging out together.   One thing we love is that we have “shows.”  If we cannot watch the shows together because one of us is busy, we DVR it so we can watch it together later.  We like Psych, Dance Moms, Survivor, and Touch.  Neither of us will watch any of these shows without the other.

Sometimes, it is difficult to be in the same room with Carson, however.   She is the biggest scaredy cat around.  Anytime she thinks something bad is going to happen, she covers her face.  When she is worried that someone is going to get hurt, she literally gets up and runs out of the room.

With that being said, Touch is a pretty violent show.  The main character, Jake, is being hunted by a killer who is trying to take out the chosen 36.  Jake has special powers that make him understand the interconnected nature of all organisms, and this man claims that he is working for God and God wants Jake dead.

This past week, he killed a few innocent bystanders on his hunt for Jake.  As he slit throats, Carson cowered under a cover.

“Is it over?  Is it over?”  I heard through the muffle of clothe.

“It’s over for now,” I said.  I was on the edge of my seat.

She pulled the cover down slowly so that only one eye was showing.  Seeing that the characters were in a benign situation, she threw the blanket on the floor and ran upstairs.  “I’ll be back,” she shouted.  “Just keep watching without me.”

Right after she left the room, she texted me.  She desperately wanted to watch, but her stomach was in knots.  As much as I wanted her to watch with me, she was too nervous.  I did not pause the show, and within seconds, I was engrossed once more.  Jake was being hunted, his father Martin was trying to help a stabbing victim, and the rest of the cast was trying to escape from the building they had been locked inside.

Out of the corner of my eye, a few minutes later, I saw my phone’s face light up.  I grabbed it and held onto it, unable to tear my eyes away from the screen.  I had pulled my knees up to my chest, and I too, was watching through fingers.  Just as Jake was about to be discovered, it went to commercial.

I was able to breathe.  Literally, I had been holding my breath.

I turned my phone to look at who had called or texted.  To my surprise, this is what I found.

004

I could not stop laughing.  She was speculating the main character’s demise, not realizing that the main character cannot meet his demise or else there wouldn’t be a premise for a show.

She came back just as Martin was kicking the living crud out of the bad guy.  Jake was fine.  However, she was present to see that the bad guy got away.

Uh-oh, next week, it will start all over again!

3 thoughts on “Sometimes, You Have to Run Away

  1. I have not even heard of that show!

    That texting thing was toooo funny. But …I would be like C….and run and hide or not watch as I sit there…lol.

    My daughter and I watch Once Upon A Time when its my week with her. It if fun watching it with her…you and C remind me of that.

  2. For the longest time I thought you were no longer writing. Then while checking out my stats i saw that somehow your blog had fallen off my “following” list. Well, you’re back on. Now I have a bunch of catching up to do. Sorry.

Leave a Reply

