Five Things I Did Last Night Instead of Blogging

Okay, as many of you know, I blogged for 366 days straight.  Actually, I blogged for 379 straight days; I did not know how to live life without blogging.  I had developed a small cult following, and I did not want to let my readers down.

Before I reached day 366, people asked, “Is that it?  You’re just going to quit?”

To be frankly honest, the idea never occurred to me.  I developed such a love for the art of  composing my short tales and satirical stories, I could not imagine life without this outlet.  “Of course not,” I told them.  “Writing is a part of who I am, but I want to be freed from its chains.  I want to write when the spirit moves me, and I want to accomplish other goals, too.”

This month, I have consistently written three to four days a week.  Last night, I had every intention of writing, but as you would have it, life got in the way.

Here are the Five Things I Did Last Night Instead of Blogging:

5. Target.  Of course I went to Target.  I go to Target as many times a week as a blog anymore.  I was thinking about not going, but then I could not NOT go– earlier in the day, my deodorant had run dry.  Now, we all know that adults perspire, and sometimes, perspiration brings an acrid odor that makes it difficult to be around that person.  I did not want to be the “smelly kid.”  I deal with enough B.O. when my afternoon tenth grade classes come to English after gym class.  I could not live with myself if I smelled.

4. Elliptical.  Yes, I got on the elliptical and did a thirty minute workout.  I need to get my fat ass  into shape again, so I am trying to workout four or five days a week.  I used to love to exercise, and I am trying to remember what that felt like.  I am going to push myself to enjoy it once again, one workout at a time.

3. The Dentist.  I had to take Lizzie to get her cute little eight-year-old teeth cleaned.  You all know how important hygiene and dental care are.  I could not even live with  myself if I thought that my children’s teeth were rotting in their heads.  We are diligent about making and keeping our six month appointments.

2. Keno.  Keno? How does that work into the mix?  Well, let me explain.  Tom is in a NASCAR league at a little local bar (Right now, my brother is saying, “Of course he is.”).  Once a week, he has to go up to the bar, pay five dollars, and draw a random number which determines the driver he has for the week, based on position.  It is better to go earlier in the week so that you have a better chance of getting a higher starting position.  We both agreed, somewhere around seven, that a 16 ounce Miller Lite and a few games of Keno would compliment his weekly pick quite nicely.

We played 11-14-23-42, and we hit for $72.00!  I was so elated when 11 hit on the last possible number that I screamed.  I screamed so loud and so energetically, I startled a man who had just sat down at the bar.  Out of the corner of my eye, I literally saw him jump.  Tom saw it, too.

“Hey man,” Tom said.  “My wife is so excited about the drink you ordered, she is cheering for you.”

He laughed.  “Thanks.  I think I made a pretty good choice.”

My mind was reeling.  My adrenaline was pumping.  I looked at the man and said, “Sorry.  We just won $72.00!”

Tom and I decided to order a celebratory beer.  As I settled down, I could not help but think that the man I startled looked familiar.  Who is he? I thought to myself.  By this time, he had been joined by a friend, and as I always do, I eavesdropped, trying to see if I could figure it out.

“I didn’t understand his comment,” his friend said.  “We explained how beneficial this is going to be for the residents as well as the city.”

“I know.  It is going to be cost saving, and the bins are so big, no one generates that much garbage.”

Hmmmm, I thought.  Comment.  Residents.  City.  Bins. 

I got it!   Which leads me to….

1. Hangout with the Mayor

“Excuse me,” I said when there was a lull in the conversation.  Aren’t you my mayor?”

As quickly as I said it, he was out of his seat.  He put out his hand.  “I thought you looked familiar to me.  How do I know you?”

I explained that when he was running for mayor, he stopped at our house when he was on one of his door-to-door meet the residents campaigns.  After the initial discussion that day, we spent about a half hour discussing unions and teachers.  At the time, I had an SB5 sign in my yard because the state of Ohio was trying to pass a law that would hurt teachers, police, and firemen unions.  He informed me that his dad was in an elevator repairmen’s union, and he supported me through and through.

“I remember that!” He said to me.

We spent the next thirty minutes talking about everything under the sun: schools, the city, trash pick-up, our own kids.  It was like talking to an old friend.  At the end of our conversation, he handed me his card.

“Can you do me a favor?” he asked.  “Can you email me tomorrow?”

I was a bit confused.  “Okay, why?”

“I need to get you on a committee.  I need to get you involved.  You are exactly what we need in local government.”

All I heard is “what we need in local government.”

This morning, I woke with a new energy.  I think I have found my new calling:  politics!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Five Things I Did Last Night Instead of Blogging

  1. omg…he wants your $72.

    Kidding *smiles* … that is fantastic that you will be getting involved civiclly. Not only will your voice be heard. You can now be part of the process … and in a way it is like volunteer work…which helps everyone! Yahhhhh

    So … did you email??!?!?! (I am behind…maybe you blogged about this already.)

Leave a Reply

