5 Things I Have Learned About Myself and Writing: Day 283

FIVE THINGS I HAVE LEARNED ABOUT MYSELF AND WRITING

1. I love to write.  I always knew I liked to write, but it has turned into an obsession.  In 283 days, I have never even considered not sitting down to write.  It does not matter how much time it takes for me to write each day, I work writing into my schedule.

2. I have a core following of people.  I love the likes and comments from such regulars as charliecountryboy, allaccesspass, and Becca3416.  (I have provided links to their pages as well– they, along with so many others, make me laugh and think regularly, feel free to check them out, too!)  In addition, so many other bloggers have found their way to my site and have come back regularly to visit– it offers me a sense of validation to have other writers read what I have to say.   I am also thankful for the friends and family who read every day.  It means the world to me that you like what I have to share.

3. I am humbled by the kindness of so many hits, likes, and comments.  As of today, WordPress says that I have reached almost 17,000 hits since I started.  Not bad.  Of course, I yearn for more hits, but I am a work in progress.  I do think it is a little underinflated (is that a word?)  I know that people have told me that they have Googled cherylhuffer.com and they have been able to read ten posts at a time.  When that happens, I only get credit for one hit to my home page.  In my mind, I am well over 20,000 hits!

4. I will not quit writing my blog when the “Year of Writing” comes to a close.  I am flattered that a few of my regulars have already expressed trepidation about a complete and utter shut down.  As much as my followers might feel withdraw, I think I would go into some kind of absurd state of imbecility– I think I would literally go crazy if I was unable to share the funny and heartfelt moments in life, and the observations that keep me sane.  I know I will not feel the pressure to write a blog post a day, but I plan on keeping it somewhat regular.  I would like to explore writing for publication.  Possibly pulling some of the stories I have shared into a memoir of sorts.

5. Lastly, I find it overly exciting that I have gotten hits from all over the world!

Just look at that map!  All of those people in all of those places!  About six months ago, when my blog got a little bit more popular, I would actually be upset if I only got hits from the United States.  I get hits parctically every day from somewhere in the world.  Nepal?  They read me!  Vietnam.  Yep, they like it, too!  They read my in the United Arab Emirate States, in Italy, Spain, and Belgium.  I even got a hit from a wee bit of a country called Saint Kitt and Nevis.  To be honest, I did not know that this was a real place in the world.  It sounds like something invented by Kurt Vonnegut.  But it’s not. I Googled it.  It is in the West Indies and has been an independent nation since 1983 {at which time I was rocking out to Flock of Seagulls, mind you} and it has over 51,000 citizens {about half the size of the suburb of Cleveland that I live in}.  I have had hits from 67 countries since February 25, 2012.  For whatever reason, it would not let me pull up summaries starting back to January 7th.

Saint Kitt and Nevis is that little speck of orange in the upper right hand corner. Thanks for the hit, you cute little small island!

I am a woman with a voice, and I plan on continuing to write.  If you are reading this blog today, thanks for stopping in and I hope you come back to visit!  If you are one of my regular visitors, thanks for your loyalty!  If you are my husband, can you wash my car?

7 thoughts on “5 Things I Have Learned About Myself and Writing: Day 283

  1. A few months ago I read a quote in a blog….I think it was dan4kent, and it said: “If when you wake up in the morning you can think of nothing but writing…then you’re a writer.”

    That quote spoke volumes to me and how I feel about writing. ). Like you, it’s been a dream of mine for forever and I am proud to say I feel like a writer. A writer who wakes up and goes to sleep thinking about the next great post I will write….or read. 🙂

    You are totally a writer, published or not (yet).

    Thanks for the shout-out and thanks for being an inspiration!

  2. Can you wash my car too Cheryl’s husband? Thanks for mentioning me Cheryl. I am seriously thinking of creating a “Fly Blog” button just for you. Because you are so super fly (haha)!

Leave a Reply

