Day 180: God Bless America

In Honor of the Armed Forces of America.

The Fourth of July.  The quintessential American holiday.  A day dedicated to hamburgers and hot dogs, baseball and beer, ice cream and apple pie, sparkles and fireworks.  Nothing is more American, more small town, more patriotic than attending a community Fourth of July parade. 

Today, it didn’t matter that it was 98 degrees at 10:00 am.  It did not matter that I was sweating so profusely that when Tom turned to ask me a question, he looked at me and said, “My God, you’re a mess!”  I was fulfilling an American dream– feeling like a member of a community, waiting for the parade, and enjoying the freedom that has been bestowed upon me.

I was a mess– dripping in sweat.  Yet, the thought of returning home was unfathomable.  Nowhere else could be more perfect than a traffic-less major artery.  The sun shone down today on the crowd gathered to celebrate our freedom.  We sat together anticipating the American flag.  We waited for the bands, the politicians, and the Girl Scouts of America!

People stood and clapped as the parade began.

This man served his country in World War II.

Nothing more American than an old school car!

A parade-goer collecting candy being thrown by participants in the parade.

A John Deer tractor– it just makes me all warm and fuzzy inside.

Our little girl carrying her Brownie troop’s flag.

It was an auspicious occasion that left me feeling fortunate.  I live in the land of opportunity.  I live in the land of the free.  Tonight, when I eat my hamburger, drink my beer, and watch my kids run around the front yard with sparklers, I will know that I am blessed.

“God Bless America.  Land that I love!”

One thought on “Day 180: God Bless America

Leave a Reply

