Day 176: My Life Philosophy

Recently, I was reminded of the life philosophy I formulated when I was eight years old.

My father and I were sitting at the kitchen table and I was crying about something (Shocking– me, cry?  That never happens).  My dad said to me, “Honey, you need to wipe away your tears.  Life is like a roller coaster ride, lots of ups and downs.”

Dissatisfied with the metaphor because it did not solve my problem or make me feel any better, I said, “But the best part of the roller coaster is the nice easy turns.”

He patted my head and laughed.  “You’re going to be just fine at life.”

******************************

Amazingly, if I were to use the roller coaster metaphor for the way I live my life, I am still pretty much sitting on the easy turns.   It’s a lovely way to ride, taking it all in.

Leave a Reply

