Day 114: Spring Planting

I woke up this morning to the sun streaking across my pillow.  It was playing with my hair and skin, reminding me how warm it can be. I knew this was the sun sending me an invitation; it wanted me to come outside.  I opened the shade and looked up at the sky.  Blue as far as the eye could see.  I flipped on the Weather channel.  The afternoon forecast: 58 degrees and sunny.  I agreed with the sun.  It was a beautiful day to get outside and enjoy the day.

I thought about what we could do.  We couldn’t go to the Indians game because Carson had dance practice.  We couldn’t go for a bike ride because my younger children refuse to learn how to ride bikes.  We could go to the park, but then I end up just sitting on a bench watching the girls play.  I wanted to be interactive.  I wanted to do something rewarding.  It dawned on me.  My front yard flower bed was full of weeds.

I rolled over and told Tom I thought we should plant flowers and work in the yard.

He did not initially agree.   “What do you think about taking Friday the 11th off with me?”  he asked.  “We can do yard work then.”  I knew what he wanted to do.  He wanted to sit inside and flip channels.  He wanted to veg-out and watch baseball, Indy car racing, hockey, and basketball.  Sundays are always a smorgasbord of sporting events, and he is still in winter mode.  It’s okay to lounge around when it is overcast and snowing, but not on a day like today.

I tried to reason with him.  “What if it rains that day?” I asked.  Hmm.  No response.   I was not going to sit around the house and let this day get away from me.  I decided I would work in the yard no matter what Tom thought.

I have a green thumb. Really, I grow a mean weed.

I got up and jumped in the shower.  I really wanted to do this today.  Earth Day was a week ago, and I did not do anything to celebrate.  Today will by my Earth Day, I told myself.  The more I thought about flowers and plants, the more excited I got to improve the aesthetics of the yard and be with my friend, the sun,

After I blew dry my hair, I went upstairs to get dressed.  Tom was occupied watching Indy racing.  “What are you doing?” he asked.

“I’m going to go to the Home Depot and buy some plants and work in the front yard,” I replied.

He let out a resigned sigh.  “All right, I’ll go with you.”

“You will?”  I could hear the elation in my own voice.  I don’t know if he wanted to come with me because he did not feel like wasting the gorgeous day or if he wanted to come with me because he didn’t trust me to buy the correct plants.  Either way, we were going to tackle the yard together!

I could smell the flowers from the parking lot!

We arrived at the nursery of the Home Depot, and we walked around outside for a little bit.  If you have ever shopped at Home Depot’s nursery, it is sensory overload.  Everything is blooming, and it appears that everything is on sale.  We perused the outside selections, and then decided to head indoors before we made any commitments.

I appreciate that someone thought it necessary to separate Sunday from the rest of the week. 8:00 to 8:00 on Sunday is obviously different from 8:00 to 8:00 every other day of the week.

Tom grabbed a flat-bed and told me to keep looking at the flowers, plants, and bushes.  He headed over to grab some bags of top soil and garden soil.  He knew we were going to need to build up the bed a bit before we planted anything.  I walked up and down the aisles of flowers and bushes.  I liked so many different things, but when it came down to it, I liked the plants that were on sale.  We bought an Azalea bush, a rhododendron bush, a potted flowery plant, some marigolds, and some petunias.  All in all, I was pleased with my choices, and we only spent $109.06.

Tom paying for our new goodies!

I was excited to get home and start digging.  The first step was digging out the weeds, pulling back the mulch, and working the new soil into the old soil.  Tom did the back-breaking work; I pulled weeds, and Lizzie placed the weeds into the trash bag.  It was brisk outside, but with all of the digging, it felt quite warm.

We only had one plant worth saving.

Lizzie is doing her part to help Mom and Dad!

I always forget how quickly we can work when we put our hearts into it.  Within an hour and a half, we had planted everything.  We are probably going to want to add in some more flowers, and I need to purchase a hanging plant for my shepherd’s hook; nonetheless, we put in a worthy effort today.

It's Spring in Ohio!

My Dad always said, “Rome wasn’t built in a day.”   Well, neither is the perfect flowerbed.  Nonetheless, I am proud of what we accomplished.  My muscles are already a little sore, and I will feel content when I get into bed tonight, knowing that as a family, we did not only improve the aesthetics of our yard, but we celebrated Earth Day– Huffer-style.  My yard may still need work, but I know Mother Nature is proud.

One thought on “Day 114: Spring Planting

Leave a Reply

